Kaltura: Channels

Issue/Question

  • How do I create a Channel?
  • How do I add media to a Channel?
  • How do I remove media from a Channel?
  • How do I restrict access to a Channel?
  • How do I approve or reject content submitted to a Channel?

Environment

  • Oregon State
    • MediaSpace

Explanation

Channels allow content owners to group media together in MediaSpace and restrict access to that media to only a defined list of users based on ONID usernames. Note: if you publish your media to a public category, adding that same media to a Channel will not restrict who has access to it.

Resolution

How do I create a Channel?

  1. Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  2. Click "+ Create Channel" to create a Channel
  3. Enter a name and description
  4. Select the privacy setting for your channel; the options are:
    • Open - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content but only admin-role users and channel members can contribute content
    • Restricted - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content and only channel members can contribute content
    • Private - Only members of a channel can view or contribute content
    • Shared Repository - Only members of a channel can view and contribute content and content may be published to other channels
    • Public - Anyone can view content without logging in but only channel members can contribute content
  5. Click Save

How do I add media to a Channel?

From the Channel's page:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Select the Channel to which you'd like to add your media
  • Click + Add Media
  • Select a piece of content from the collection of content that you own
  • If you have not yet uploaded your content, you will have the opportunity to do so here
  • Click Add

From your media's page:

  • Visit My Media in MediaSpace
  • Click on the media you'd like to add to the Channel
  • Select Publish from the Actions menu underneath the media
  • Choose Published
  • Choose the Publish in Channel tab
  • You will be presented with a list of Channels to which you may submit content
  • Check the box for the desired Channel or Channels
  • Click Save

How do I remove media from a Channel?

A content owner can remove any of his media from a Channel to which it had been previously submitted. Channel managers can remove any content that has been previously submitted to their channel.

If you're a content owner:

  • Visit My Media in MediaSpace
  • Select the media you'd like to remove from a Channel
  • Click the Publish tab underneath the media
  • Choose Publish in Channel
  • You will be presented with a list of Channels to which you may submit content
  • Remove the checkbox next to the Channel from which you wish to remove your content
  • Once the checkmark is removed, the media is removed from that Channel

If you're a Channel manager:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Select the Channel from which you'd like to remove media
  • On the left-hand side, you will be presented with the media currently in this Channel
  • Pass your mouse over the media you wish to remove and click Remove
  • Confirm that you want to remove this media by clicking Yes

How do I approve or reject content submitted to a Channel?

Channels must have moderation activated in order to approve or reject a submitted piece of media. Only a Channel manager or moderator may approve or reject content submitted to a Channel. To do this:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click Edit underneath the Channel you wish to delete
  • Click the Pending tab
  • Select the piece of media you wish to approve or reject
  • Click either the Reject or Approve button

How do I restrict access to a Channel?

Upon creating a Channel, you determine if that Channel is Open, Restricted, Private, Shared Repository or Public. To modify a Channel's privacy:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click the Edit link underneath the desired Channel
  • Select the privacy setting for your channel; the options are:
    • Open - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content but only admin-role users and channel members can contribute content
    • Restricted - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content and only channel members can contribute content
    • Private - Only members of a channel can view or contribute content
    • Shared Repository - Only members of a channel can view and contribute content and content may be published to other channels
    • Public - Anyone can view content without logging in but only channel members can contribute content
  • Click Save

Depending on your choice, you are then required to define who is a member of your Channel if you wish them to access the content therein. You do this as follows:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click the Edit link underneath the desired Channel
  • Click the Members tab
  • Click Add Member
  • Enter the ONID username of the person you'd like to add as a member
  • Determine the permissions you would live to give to this member. They are:
    • Member: May view content in the Channel
    • Contributor: May view content in Channel and submit new content
    • Moderator: May view content in the Channel, submit new content, and approve submitted content if the Channel is moderated
    • Manager: Same permissions as the creator of the Channel; May view, submit and approve content, as well as Edit permissions, modify details of the Channel, or delete it outright
  • Click Add

How do I delete a Channel?

Only a Channel manager may delete a Channel. To do this:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click Edit underneath the Channel you wish to delete
  • Click the Advanced tab
  • Click Delete Channel
  • Confirm that you want to delete this Channel by clicking Yes

 

For assistance, contact the IS Service Desk.

100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 68833
Created
Wed 12/12/18 8:38 AM
Modified
Wed 11/13/19 11:04 AM