Canvas: Delete a Canvas studio site

Overview

Canvas is Oregon State University's Learning Management System. An owner of a Canvas Studio site can delete the Studio site if they no longer want the Studio site to appear in their list of courses. This action cannot be reversed and the site data cannot be recovered once the Studio site is deleted.  It is strongly recommended that you download an export of the site content before deleting if you wish to retain the content.  You will be asked for confirmation twice to ensure this is not done accidentally.

Delete a Studio Site

  1. Log into Canvas at http://canvas.oregonstate.edu
  2. Click the Account button and then the Settings link in the upper-left corner of the Canvas screen
  3. Click the My Studio Sites link on the upper left side of your Settings page
  4. Click Modify in the row corresponding to the site you wish to modify
  5. Verify that the Studio site name that you wish to delete is appended to the "Enrollment options for" sentence in the first box that appears to the right of the Studio site list
  6. Click Delete Site in the last box that appears to the right of the Studio site list
  7. Click OK in the first pop-out dialog box that appears to provide the first confirmation that you wish to delete the Studio site
  8. Click OK in the second pop-out dialog box that appears to provide the second, and final, confirmation that you wish to delete the Studio site

It is possible for an action to fail due to the session timing out or becoming invalid in some other fashion.  Whenever you experience an unexpected failure, navigate away from the tool and return.  If the action still fails, contact support for further assistance.

Still have questions?

If you questions about this topic or related topics, please use one of the following methods to contact the Canvas team at Oregon State:

  • Add a comment/question to this article using the tools below the article
  • Send an email to Canvas@oregonstate.edu